Hot Cross Bun I Tried In 2014 Easter

I always love Hot Cross Bun as I like bread that contained dried fruits. At times, during other days then Easter period, when I feel like having Hot Cross Bun, I get them from Marks and Spencer so I am not going to review the M&S Hot Cross Bun in this post. I went Swissbake, artisan boulangerie co. (abc) and Cedele.

From Top, Clockwise: Hot Cross Bun From - Swissbake, Cedele, abc
From Top, Clockwise: Hot Cross Bun From – Swissbake, Cedele, abc

The Hot Cross Bun from artisan boulangerie co. (abc) has the most fluffy and soft texture among the four Hot Cross Bund. The bun has very little spice as I could hardly taste any spice in the bun. The greatest disappointment was in the amount of dried fruit. It was too little. There are some bites that are without the dried fruits. [Rating: 7/10]

Swissbake‘s Hot Cross Bun texture is the least fluffy and soft. The plus point was it has sufficient dried fruits in the bun. The citrus peel was not too much and in tiny dice, just right, I could taste the fragrance of the peel and not the bitterness. I could taste more spice in the bun as compared to the abc Hot Cross Bun. [Rating: 7.5/10]

For Cedele, I did not get the Classic Hot Cross Bun. If you read my post on “Where To Get Hot Cross Bun For Easter 2014 in Singapore“, you would have guessed what I have gotten. My first bite of the Cheese Onion Mustard Hot Cross Bun, I feel that taste was weird. It tastes so sweet. As I have more bites of the bun, I beginning to fall in love with the bun. The texture is between the abc and Swissbake. It is not exactly a savoury bun as it taste sweet. In my opinion, the bun is very sweet. You get neither the cheese nor mustard taste but a whole new taste. I think it is more of an acquired taste. [Rating: 8/10]

Bread Talk Hot Cross Bun - Right, rasin; Left, chocolate
Bread Talk Hot Cross Bun – Right, rasin; Left, chocolate

Lastly, the Hot Cross Bun from Bread Talk, the texture is all right and I could taste the spice but the rasins is too little. There is no citrus peel. Surprisingly, it is not bad for the low price. [Rating: 7.5/10]

 

Leave A Comment

 

Published by

NAHMJ

A gal who loves to travel and enjoy great food, who also love to take photos of the food and to share her finds

One thought on “Hot Cross Bun I Tried In 2014 Easter”

Leave a Reply

