A Day of June 2014 In Hong Kong

I touched down in Hong Kong on Sunday mid-day. As I am only in Hong Kong for a week, I took a small luggage and did not require check-in. Right after immigration clearance, I exited the airport for a taxi.

The taxi driver was an elderly folk. I told him I was going to Langham Place Hotel, he didn’t know of this hotel. But luckily, at the minimum, he knew Shanghai Street at Mongkok. I wasn’t worried either as I am sure we will be able to figure out when we were near. And I was right. It wasn’t easy as I don’t communicate well in Cantonese but we managed.

Langham Place Hotel
Langham Place Hotel

As the check-in time is 3pm, I couldn’t check-in after I have done the registration at the hotel, so without any further delay, I headed for Mongkok MTR station to take the MTR to Causeway Bay for lunch. I headed to Ho Hung Kee Congee & Noodle Wuntun Shop at Hysan Place, located at 12F. The lift can only be accessed from level two. As I was there at an odd time, about two plus in the afternoon, there wasn’t a queue. I was sharing a table with another lady who was there alone. You can read more about my review on Ho Hung Kee here. I have the signature wonton mee, a small portion. The small portion has 4 wonton.

Ho Hung Kee Wonton Mee
Ho Hung Kee Wonton Mee

After I was done with my lunch, I moved on, planning to have a leisure afternoon enjoying some cake or pastry at the newly opened Hello Kitty Cafe. On my way there, I saw a bakery with constant flow of customers, taking with them a small brown paper bag as they stepped out of the shop. I was curious. By the way, this shop is Danish Bakery, 丹麦饼店 (Address: G/F 106 Leighton Rd, Causeway Bay) along Leighton Road.

Preparing the Pork Chop Bun
Preparing the Pork Chop Bun

They sell pork chop, chicken chop and fish fillet bun. I ordered a pork chop bun. It was a simple bun. The burger bun was slightly sweetish, soft and fluffy, very delicious was halved. One side with mayonnaise spread and the other with ketchup. The pork chop was sandwiched in between the bun. The pork chop does not have much seasoning. It tasted very much its natural pork flavour. I think they probably added some pepper and salt to season the pork before deep frying it.

I strolled towards my next destination while enjoying the bun. I came across a very nicely decorated door step of a house at a corner of Tung Lo Wan Road.

Nice Little Decoration at a doorstep at Tung Lo Wan Road
Nice Little Decoration at a doorstep at Tung Lo Wan Road

There were a number of small pet shops along Tung Lo Wan Road.

After quite a walk, I finally reached Hello Kitty Secret Garden Cafe (Address: 19 Ormsby Street, Tai Hang). There was a long long queue despite its not so convenient location. The queue extended onto the road, beyond the pedestrian platform. I quickly embarked to join the queue.

Hello Kitty Secret Garden long long queue
Hello Kitty Secret Garden long long queue

Again, another unfortunately event was about to happen. Three days in a row. I suppose, for the safety of the diners in the queue, they wanted the queue to start on the opposite side of the road but somehow, that did not happen so a few people earlier me started to queue onto the road. As there was a group of diner who came later than me approached the service crew and a lady came out to lead them to the right queue but somehow ignoring me who was already in the queue. It was so coincident that some people in front of me, decided to leave the queue so I happily moved forward to the tailend of the first queue. Not sure why, after she has settled the second part of the queue she came and signalled me to join the second part of the queue. As I don’t have evidence to indicate that I was already in the queue, I see no point in an arguement, I will lose in the debate so no choice. Since I have to join a queue of 10 more people in addition to the many more, I estimated it to be at least 30 – 40 people in the first part of the queue and the cafe was extremely small, and so again I see no point of queueing. My reasoning was … I estimated that the cafe has only about 10 – 20 seating capacity. So let’s take 15 in seating capacity, if the assumption is each batch of 15 people entered at the same time and will spend approximately an hour so that meant, the waiting time will be easily 3 hours and more.  I thought a better way was to have a takeaway. To my dismay, they don’t do takeaway. Anyway … nevermind though upset and disappointed.

I was extremely upset with such a move.  If they want to move the queue, then move it in a systematic way, making sure that the sequence remains. Every attempt of moving the queue, inevitably will cause such challenge. I have only experienced one such successful move as that move, they deployed lots of security guard, getting one person or a group of them who were together in the same queue to move. Some manpower is required, not easy.  The best is for them to monitor the queue frequently and traffic the queue as and when necessary, immediately. This would avoid unhappy incident resulting unhappy diners like me. I suppose they don’t really care since their business was so brisk. One less unhappy diner doesn’t matter to them at all since it seems, as it seems like they can’t meet up with the demand.

Earlier, I passed by Urban Coffee Company, I was attracted by its strong coffee aroma. It is a kiosk, no proper seats, just some bar-like tables and seats-like outside the kiosk for the customers to hang around and enjoy their coffee. Their coffee has a pretty good balance though was pretty flat. It has a stronger bittersweet chocolate taste with some nutty flavour.

As the heat was pretty strong, I was sweaty and tire since I have received a call earlier informing me of the availability of the room, I decided to go back to the hotel and check-out the room first.

The room was lovely and cosy. Very soon, dinner time was near, I went to another one Michelin star restaurant, One Dim Sum for dinner.

My Order, Egg Custard Bun, Turnip Cake with Dry Salted Meat & Steamed Rice Noodle with Barbecued Pork (and missing item, Fried Skin of Beancurd Roll)
My Order, Egg Custard Bun, Turnip Cake with Dry Salted Meat & Steamed Rice Noodle with Barbecued Pork (and missing item, Fried Skin of Beancurd Roll)

The food was excellent. It lived up to its name. I was there slightly a few minutes after 6pm, and there wasn’t any queue yet, that was good. By 6.15pm, queue started to form and getting long. The moral of the story, go at odd timing to avoid queue. To find out how good the food were, click here.

It was still very early to go back hotel, so I decided to roam around Prince Edward and walked towards Mongkok where my hotel is. I stopped by Nullah Road (Address: Shop 10, G/F, 30-32 Nullah Rd, Prince Edward) for the famous stinky tofu. I like stinky tofu, the ‘stinkier’ the better. Lol! I have my share of the stinky tofu at Delicious Food snack stall (美味食店). There are another one (星星美食) by the left side of Delicious Food snack stall. I didn’t try theirs stinky tofu, maybe the next time when I am there again.

As I walked, I somehow reached the Gold Fish Market (金鱼街) at Tung Choi Street North (通菜街). Lots of shop selling fishes and there are pets shop too.

Again, I moved on, and I spotted the Hoi Kee Walnut Place. I stopped over and have the Steamed Milk Custard with Ginger. I have a post for Hoi Kee too, click here to read.

Before heading back to the hotel, I went to the Lady’s Market, the other end of Tung Choi Street (South), saw two Indian bargaining in action. They walked away and then the vendor started calling them back. This old trick of walking away never failed. They were stopped and started discussing. Not sure if they eventually agreed on the deal.

Lady's Market at Tung Choi Street
Lady’s Market at Tung Choi Street

Finally, I ended my day with a fruit juice, an apple and chinese pear juice. I bought this at a stall, Hung Fook Tong, at the basement of Langham Place Mall.

Apple and Chinese Pear Drink
Apple and Chinese Pear Drink

Pretty soothing, not too sweet. There are some fruit pulp at the bottom of the bottle so remember to shake before drinking.

A great 3/4 Sunday at Hong Kong with lots of great delicious food.

Published by

NAHMJ

A gal who loves to travel and enjoy great food, who also love to take photos of the food and to share her finds

Leave a Reply

