The Lokal Cafe At Neil Road, Fantastic

I can’t wait to share my latest awesome finding, The Lokal Cafe along Neil Road. It is by far the best cafe I have visited; great food, great ambience and very importantly excellent service. If you have read my recent posts, you would have noted that I have been receiving not so good service from a few food establishment. Finally, the bad days were over. I am so glad that I came to know The Lokal.

The order and drinks making counter
The order and drinks making counter

The Lokal Cafe has an Aussie feel, very cosy as it has a few cushy row of seats by the side and some sofa seats at the back of the cafe. They use some vintage metal chairs as the furniture too, very cool. The cafe is housed in the ground floor of a shophouse, facing the Pinancle @ Duxton. It is about 3 – 5 minutes walk once you exited from Outram Park MRT station.

Interior of Cafe
Interior of Cafe

I was there at about 11 am so it was kinda between their breakfast time and lunch period and I have a choice of either. I chose the breakfast menu as I saw Banana Bread on The Lokal breakfast menu. I couldn’t resist Banana Bread.

The cashier did a check with the kitchen to ensure that Banana Bread was still available. That was ensuring. As usual, without failed, I ordered my favourite coffee, the Cappuccino. An unfortunate incident was about to happen.

About 10 minutes after my order was done, I was informed by a lady, whom I assumed she is the owner, that caramelised banana was not available so if I still want to go ahead to have the Banana Bread or to change my order. She offered to give a bit of discount if I am having the Banana Bread. Guess how much of discount she gave? It was a generous 1/3 off the price. I was very surprise. I really think she did an excellent job in the service recovery.

My Order, Cappuccino
My Order, Cappuccino

After the coffee was served, there was quite some wait for the Banana Bread to be served. She noted and she came forward to apology for the long wait. I appreciate her gesture.

The coffee has a medium to light body and a medium acidity, good aroma. It has a chocolate milk flavour and slight nutty taste. I like the coffee. It was great.

My Order, Toasted Banana Bread, home-made vanilla yogurt, toasted macadamias without caramelised banana
My Order, Toasted Banana Bread, home-made vanilla yogurt, toasted macadamias without caramelised banana

Finally, the Banana Bread without the Caramelised Banana was served. After taking some photos, immediately I dived right into the Banana Bread. The texture of the Banana Bread was soft and smooth. It tasted very much like a sponge cake. It has a good amount of banana taste and some hint of cinnamon and nutmeg and some tangy orange taste. It was drizzled with home-made vanilla yogurt, not much of sugar was added to the yogurt so it was a little sourish. Some may find it a little too sour, I think. But I like it. I didn’t think that yogurt could go so well with Banana Bread. It really paired off very well. Oh ya, it has some toasted macademia nuts added too. This added a crunchy texture to the dish and lightly nuttiness. It was excellent. I simply enjoyed it very much. I finished the entire dish. I believed it would taste perfect if caramelised banana was available.

In short, I will definitely return to The Lokal to have Lunch, perhaps next week. I like the food, the ambience and the fantastic service. In a nutshell, AWESOME!!

 

The Lokal
136 Neil Road Singapore 088865
Tel: +65 6423 9918

FBhttps://www.facebook.com/thelokalsingapore

Opening Hours

Daily – Breakfast 0800 to 1100; Lunch 1100 to 1530

Getting There

By MRT: Northeast and North-South Line – Outram Park Station

By Bus:
– alight before the Pinnacle @ Duxton along Neil Road – 61, 166, 197;

– alight at Pearl’s Center along Eu Tong Seng – 54, 124, 143, 147, 166, 190, 851, 970, CT8, CT18, CT28

– alight opp Pearl’s Center along New Bridge Road – 2, 12, 33, 54, 63, 124, 143, 147, 190, 851, 961, 961C, 970, CT8, CT18, CT28

Rating: 8.5/10

Published by

NAHMJ

A gal who loves to travel and enjoy great food, who also love to take photos of the food and to share her finds

Leave a Reply

