Healesville Sanctuary in Victoria, Australia

Healesville Sanctuary in Victoria has many Australia native animals. My friend decided to bring me to Healesville Sanctuary to introduce me to the Australia native animals.

This long legs and beak bird was trying to steal our delicious homemade lunch
This long legs and beak bird was trying to steal our delicious homemade lunch

My friend’s husband make some deep fried chicken with cheese for our lunch and we were enjoying the home-made food at Heavesville at one of the benches and a bird, in the above picture decided to have a share and kept coming to “steal” our food. The fragrance must have attracted the bird.

After our lunch, we moved on, the first animal we saw was the Kangraoo. There were different species of Kangaroo in the Sanctuary. As I did not know the various species characteristics so I couldn’t identity which is which. What attracted me was the way the Kangaroo slept, like sleeping beauty.

I was attracted by the Platypus and that was my first time seeing them. Look so cute. They swim fast and I couldn’t get them on my camera.

In all zoo, there is always some performance, no surprise in Healesville Sanctuary, there is a performance too. I managed to catch the birds in action.

Like I mentioned earlier, the main feature of Healesville Sanctuary is that they have mainly Australia natives animals so I took a few of them.

There were many birds, many which I don’t know what they are. Some of the birds were staying in the same big cage.

The last animal we saw before we left the Sanctuary was the Dingo. As we exit, the keepers were walking the Dingo. I went forward to give them a pat. They didn’t allow me to do that but when my sister was there recently, she was allowed. 😦

Healesville Sanctuary is a place for the family, especially with the little ones. For the bigger boys and girls, it is also fun to learn about the different animals. I have a great time at Healesville Sanctuary. Thanks to both Jean and Gordon for hosting.

 

Healesville Sanctuary
Badger Creek Rd, Healesville VIC 3777, Australia
Tel: +61 3 5957 2800

How to get there?

By Car

When to go?

Any time of the year.

Link to check out before you go:

Healesville Sanctuary

Published by

NAHMJ

A gal who loves to travel and enjoy great food, who also love to take photos of the food and to share her finds

2 thoughts on “Healesville Sanctuary in Victoria, Australia”

  1. The most rewarding thing about visiting healesville sanctuary is seeing the platypus. The sanctuary has been pretty successful in breeding them as well. Platypus is an extremely shy creature so it is almost impossible to see one in the wild.

Leave a Reply

