Sunday Market At Lim Tua Tow Road, Up and Coming, Hip Cafe

Sunday Market at Lim Tua Tow Road is a great addition to the northeastern part of Singapore. It is at the corner of a row of shops. I heard that it took over the space of The Factory which previously sold fries.

Sunday Market Cafe Front
Sunday Market Cafe Front

The design of the cafe is hip, complex and sophisticated. There is a chandelier hung in the inner part of the cafe. Lots of different kind of paintings were placed in the cafe too. Basically lots of different elements were mixed and match, but blended well together.

What strike me on the menu was a section devoted to duck. I hardly see such an interesting menu. I love the menu, lots of very unique creation served n the cafe. Even the breakfast item was kind of special.

Sunday Market Menu
Sunday Market Menu

My lunch was Duck Pulled Sandwich and Cappuccino. Duck is not what I will usually ordered as it is my least favourite, but I decided to try something different today.

I enjoyed my lunch very much. The Duck Pulled Sandwich was great. The pulled duck was well seasoned with flavours. The bread used is my favourite. They served it on Brioche. It was sandwiched with creamy coleslaw. The combination resulted in a tasty sandwich. There are some mesclun greens lightly tossed in vinaigrette by the side.

The coffee has a low acidity, light body and aroma with a nutty, butter scotch flavour notes.

Sunday Market offers quite a number of ice cream flavours, so enticing. I was first attracted by Thai Milk Tea flavour but shortly, I saw Andy’s Flavour and got me curious. You probably won’t be able to guess what’s in the it. This key ingredient is sour and it is commonly used in salad dressing. A very convenient ingredient for salad dressing. One more clue. It’s a black liquid. Not sure if you have guessed correctly.

My Dessert, Balsamic Vinegar Ice Cream
My Dessert, Balsamic Vinegar Ice Cream

I ordered a scooped after trying some. I like it very much. The ice cream has a sourish tinge and it has sweetish fragrance finish taste. This unique flavour is Balsamic Vinegar. I couldn’t believe that it was so good till I tried it. But I am sure this could probably be an acquired taste too. I am quite certain, it is like olive. Not many like it. If you are adventurous, I urge you to try it.

Sunday Market is another welcome addition to the Singapore cafe scene. I like everything Sunday Market got to offer. The food is superb, creative and innovative, ambience is great with warm and friendly service. Though it was fulled at lunch, it wasn’t noisy. A great cafe to chill out. I am looking forward to more unique creation coming from Sunday Market’s kitchen.

The bottomline? It’s a very highly recommended cafe to all, without doubt.

 

Sunday Market (週日市场)
22 Lim Tua Tow Market Singapore 547772
Tel: +65 6287 8880

FBhttps://www.facebook.com/sundaymarket.sg

Opening Hours

Monday – Friday 1300 to 2300; Saturday – Sunday 1100 to 2300

Getting There

By Bus:
– alight before Kovan Centre along Yio Chu Kang Road 136
– alight at Nam Peng Centre along Upper Serangoon Road 80, 81, 82, 101, 107, 107M, 153
– alight at Serangoon Centre along Upper Serangoon Road 80, 81, 82, 101, 107, 107M, 136, 153

Rating: 9/10

Published by

NAHMJ

A gal who loves to travel and enjoy great food, who also love to take photos of the food and to share her finds

Leave a Reply

