Flourish Pastries At Tanjong Pagar Plaza, Modest Home-made Bakes

Flourish Pastries is at second floor of Tanjong Pagar Plaza. I find it quite easy to locate the shop. When I stepped into the shop, they were playing some familiar hymns but I couldn’t identify the title.

Flourish Pastries Shop Front
Flourish Pastries Shop Front

At the counter, there wasn’t any cakes but mainly pastries. There were lemon, chocolate, salted caramel tarts and some croissants, quiches, cream puff and egg tarts. As I was in the mood for cake so I asked if they have any. There was only a carrot cake which they just done with it and was frosting the cream cheese. They offer other cakes as well but one of which I am very keen to try was the Lemon Basil Cake. The combination enticed me. This is usually available on Friday.

The shop does not have any indoor seats but there were a few tables outside for customers who are eager to have their pastries.

The decoration of the shop is very simple with some paintings, laminated newspaper articles, posters and some books and so on.

When the lady took out the carrot cake to slice, I asked her to let me take a photo of her cake. She offered me with another prettier decorated carrot cake for the photo. It was so kind of her.

Carrot Cake (Whole)
Carrot Cake (Whole)

Finally done with the takeaway and the results …

My Takeaway, From top, left, clockwise: Veg Quiche, Carrot Cake, Lemon Tart & Salted Caramel Tart
My Takeaway, From top, left, clockwise: Veg Quiche, Carrot Cake, Lemon Tart & Salted Caramel Tart

I got a mini Vegetable Quiche, a Carrot Cake, a Lemon Tart and a Salted Caramel Tart. The first on the list was the Lemon Tart. The lemon curd was tangy, a little on the sourish side with a very soft, not so buttery biscuit base. I like enjoyed.

Next I moved on to the Carrot Cake. Flourish Pastries’ Carrot Cake is very moist, soft, crumble, nutty as there were lots of nuts, not so much of raisins. It was quite a rich cake. I like it.

Followed by the savoury Vegetable Quiche. After the first bite, my immediate response was “It was good.” There was quite a lot of diced vegetables as the filling. There was a good balance of everything in terms of taste. I think it may taste better with sundried tomato.

Lastly, it was the Salted Caramel Tart. It proofed too much of caramel for me. I like salted caramel but it was overwhelming. It ended up, feeling so sweet. Maybe it will be better if it was paired with something like dark chocolate, maybe dark chocolate brownie or something else.

My thoughts of Flourish Pastries? A simple modest bakery with tasty home-made feel bakes. I am looking forward to try the Lemon Basil Cake.

 

Flourish Pastries
1 Tanjong Pagar Plaza, #02-06 Singapore 082001
Tel: +65 6444 1924

Opening Hours

Monday – Friday 1030 to 1900; Saturday 1030 to 1430; Closed on Sundays

Getting There

By MRT: North-South Line -Tanjong Pagar station

By Bus: alight at the bus stop either before Wallich Road or after Craig Road – 80, 145

Getting There Map
Getting There Map

Rating: 7.5/10

Published by

NAHMJ

A gal who loves to travel and enjoy great food, who also love to take photos of the food and to share her finds

2 thoughts on “Flourish Pastries At Tanjong Pagar Plaza, Modest Home-made Bakes”

  1. I tried a few bakery items from Flourish Pastries. Delicious, fresh, quite reasonably priced & the best part….some of the friendliest people run this place!! Well done ladies 🙂

Leave a Reply

