My Last Day in Hong Kong in June 2014

On the day of departure, as my flight was in the late evening, I have some time to explore Hong Kong a little more. I woke up early in the morning, as early as 6am, have a bath, did my last packing and checked out of the hotel by 7am, leaving my luggage with the hotel till it was time to pick them up for the airport.

My first stop for the day was to have breakfast at Kam Fung for its Bolo Bun as breakfast.

Kam Fung Cafe
Kam Fung Cafe

As I was still early, I went over to the Western Market and took a snap.

Western Market
Western Market

There was a MacDonald in vicinity, as I walked passed MacDonald, noticed that they were selling Kitty. I was very excited, went to get a meal and get a kitty for Cookies, our family dog. Oh my, second breakfast.

Once I was done with my 2nd breakfast, I headed for Jenny Bakery. It was 10 minutes before 9am, about 1 hour plus to the opening hours. I joined the queue and waited.

Jenny's Bakery Not Opened yet In the morning
Jenny’s Bakery Not Opened yet In the morning

At 10am, a lady came out of the bakery and issue the number tag. See I got number 7.

Number Tag From Jenny's Bakery
Number Tag From Jenny’s Bakery

I bought 2 boxes of small 4 mixed and 1 box of large 8 mixed. Actually, I wanted a box of small 8 mixed but stock was not available so no choice. After I was done with my purchase, I noticed the about 6 metres long queue.

End of Queue at Jenny Bakery
End of Queue at Jenny Bakery

My next destination was to Tai Cheong Bakery to get some lovely famous egg tarts for the family. I took the mid level escalator, witnessing the staff changing the direction of the escalator.

As I was walking along the mid level escalator, I spotted a wall painting.

Street Wall Painting
Street Wall Painting

Found Tai Cheong Bakery, got 6 egg tarts and then moved on. Though I have very heavy breakfast already, since I was so near to Lan Fong Yuen, I don’t want to missed the milk tea.

Lan Fong Yuen Cafe with a queue
Lan Fong Yuen Cafe with a queue

But Lan Fong Yuen has imposed a minimum spending of 25 HKD so that means more food. Very quickly, I was done with my food and proceeded to my next destination, the Man Mo Temple.

As I stepped out of Lan Fong Yuen, I saw a move notice of Lung Kee. So for Lung Kee fans, take note, they have shifted to some where near the Central Market.

Lung Kee Moves Notice
Lung Kee Moves Notice

As I was walking towards the temple, I kept my eyes sharp, spotted some very pretty, interesting art and display, took some photos.

Soon, I reached Man Mo Temple. I attempted to walked into the temple but failed as there was too much of smoke from the incense and it kept me coughing non-stop. Out of no other choice, I got to walk away.

I roamed towards the ferry pier. Along the way, saw more view worth to be captured on my camera.

A Street in Central
A Street in Central

Before the Ferry Pier, I saw IFC Mall, so I decided to walk into the mall for some cool air as it was an extremely hot day. I heard that there was a Tim Ho Wan but walked round the mall couldn’t spot it and went to the directory, couldn’t find it. I wonder if it was gone or I missed it somehow. Looks like I need to investigate more.

In the mall, I spotted a very interesting and beautiful visual moving art display. Various element in the art was moving, presenting different views.

After enjoying the cool air, I moved on to the Central Pier.

Captured a sight of the Star Ferry …

Star Ferry Pier and Star Ferry
Star Ferry Pier and Star Ferry

… and the Maritime Museum of Hong Kong

Hong Kong Maritime Museum
Hong Kong Maritime Museum

… and finally lunch at Cafe 8. I am was in need of vegetables as for the passed few days, there wasn’t any greens. Ordered a salad and it was very delish. Not forgetting to mentioned the great city landscape view that was in front of me as well.

After lunch, it was time to head back to Mongkok. Before I end my day, I went to Hang Hueng to get my family favourite Lao Po Bin (Wife’s Biscuit). Then I went over to Meng Hua Pastries Shop to get some Glutinous Rice Cake with Peanut filling for my Mom. This is my Mom’s favourite. She enjoy these rice cake very much. There are other fillings like red bean and custard. I will get her more at my next trip.

Meng Hua Pastries Shop
Meng Hua Pastries Shop

Before I got back to the hotel for my luggage, I decided to shop at Langham Shopping Mall and I ended buying more. I bought a bag for myself and my sister and a long purse for my mom. And I was extremely tire, went back to the hotel and rested at the lobby for a while before collecting my luggage and to the airport.

Finally, it’s time to go to the airport, collected my luggage and flagged for a taxi with the help of the hotel staff. That’s the end of my last day at Hong Kong in June 2014.

 

Published by

NAHMJ

A gal who loves to travel and enjoy great food, who also love to take photos of the food and to share her finds

Leave a Reply

