Mamacitas Costa Rican Cusine At Lau Pa Sat

* Update 6 Feb 2015

Mamacitas Costa Rican Cuisine is also another new stall making waves in Lau Pa Sat, attracting large lunch crowds. When I was there at about 1.30pm, there was still a 2 to 3 metres long queue. I waited for almost 30 min before I get to enjoy my food.

Side View of Stall
Side View of Stall

If I am correct, they started at the Amoy Street Market.

Menu
Menu

I don’t know much of this South American cuisine as was never exposed to it previously. While browsing the menu, I saw familiar food items like the buritos and tacos. I saw there was a word, “specialty” on the Crunchy Chalupas and I decided to order that.

My Lunch, Crunchy Chalupas
My Lunch, Crunchy Chalupas

It was made up of a deep fried tortilla wrap in to a shape of a bowl. The based was a salad of lettuce, capsicum and topped with salsa and either beef or chicken. Finally it was drizzled with tomato, chilli and a white sauce. I tossed the salad before eating.

My first impression was a little spicy. Next I felt it was creamy. Simply like eating a bowl of salad with some bread.

For a change at times, Mamacitas is a good choice.

*I have not returned since their opening and unfortunately, I have been receiving a number of negative feedback about them recently. So you might want to think twice about getting a meal from them. Anyone else who have been to Mamacitas recently, you might want to drop a note at the comment to share your experience.

Mamacitas Costa Rican Cuisine
18 Raffles Quay #01-06 Telok Ayer Festival Market, Lau Pa Sat Singapore 048582

Opening Hours

Daily 1130 to 2100

Getting There

By MRT: East West line or North South line – Raffles Place station

By Bus:
– alight opposite Hotel Sofitel So Singapore along Robinson Road – 10, 10e, 97, 97e, 196, 196e
– alight opposite AIA Tower along Robinson Road – 10, 10e, 70, 75, 100, 107, 128, 130, 162, 196, 196e
– alight at One Raffles Quay along Raffles Quay – 10, 10e, 57, 70, 75, 100, 107, 128, 130, 131, 162, 167, 186, 196, 196e, 700, 970

Rating: 8/10

Published by

NAHMJ

A gal who loves to travel and enjoy great food, who also love to take photos of the food and to share her finds

10 thoughts on “Mamacitas Costa Rican Cusine At Lau Pa Sat”

  1. I love the food here. Their Amoy stall is under renovation till end Feb 2015 so I will go to the Lau pa sat one.The one at Amoy always had a long queue as the food tastes great and the service is good too as whenever I initiate a conversation the staff are more than happy to have a friendly chat. I will be taking some of my friends there tomorrow.

  2. God I just went there for some rice and beans and salsa and ended overpaying for the gallo pinto set… And to top it off she drizzled some red sauce on top of my food without asking… When I asked for extra salsa she just drizzles more of the sauce which turns out to be Chilli sauce!!!! Who wants to eat chilli sauce on top of South American food??? I threw it all out… Nasty.

    1. Hi Swetha,
      Thanks for your feedback. I have been receiving a number of negative feedback about them. Thanks for the updated information for all my readers.

      Cheers
      NAHMJ (Michelle)

  3. I tried their beef casado today and I am so disappointed. Rice is under cooked. They only provide a small portion of the beef and sauted squash. One small fried banana and a spoonfull of salsa and cost me S$7.90 excluding the charge for take away. I felt like eating an overpriced 1 meat 1 veggie with side dish mixed rice.

    1. Thanks for your comment. This is the second negative feedback I have received about them. I have not returned since then. Good update for the readers. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

