Wudai Tongtang Homemade Dessert (五代同糖) At Mongkok

Dessert is my love. I will try any shop I chanced upon. Wudai Tongtang Homemade Dessert (五代同糖) is around the corner of the hotel I was staying. There isn’t a English name so I have the English name from the pronunciation of the Chinese words.

Wudai Tongtang Homemade Dessert (五代同糖) Shop Front
Wudai Tongtang Homemade Dessert (五代同糖) Shop Front

This dessert shop is always crowded. I thought to myself, it must be good. I went with a friend and her daughter.

Shop Interior
Shop Interior

I decided to try something different so after browsing the menu and I chose the Beancurd and Grass Jelly with Mango.

Menu
Menu

The grass jelly when eaten alone was slightly bitter in taste but when I ate it together with syrup, the bitterness was masked. The syrup seems to have some evaporated and/or condensed milk added. With mango added, the dessert was refreshing and added a dash of fruitiness.

Beancurd and Grass Jelly with Mango
Beancurd and Grass Jelly with Mango

My colleague’s daughter tried the Mango Pomelo Dessert while she didn’t try any as she doesn’t quite fancy dessert.

Mango Pomelo Dessert
Mango Pomelo Dessert

The Mango Pomelo Dessert was presented in as shaven ice, something different from the classic presentation. I tried a spoonful. It has a rich mango flavour in the shaven ice and the sweetness level was perfect for me. There were some mango cubes and pomelo by the side.

Overall, the dessert is pretty decent with excellent Mango Pomelo Dessert.

 

Wudai Tongtang Homemade Dessert (五代同糖)
Shop 2, G/F, 38 Plaza, 38 Shan Tung Street, Mong Kok
旺角山東街38號38廣場地下2號舖
Tel: +852 3486 3969

Opening Hours

Sunday – Thursday 1400 to 0100; Friday – Saturday 1400 to 0200

Getting There

By MTR: Mongkok (Exit E1)

Rating: 7/10

 

For other outlets, click here

Published by

NAHMJ

A gal who loves to travel and enjoy great food, who also love to take photos of the food and to share her finds

Leave a Reply

