La Marmite Bistrot French In Soho, Hong Kong

As I was in PMQ earlier and didn’t know what I wanted for dinner so strolled along Staunton Street and feel like trying out La Marmite Bistrot, a French restaurant.

La Marmite Bistrot Front
La Marmite Bistrot Front

It was a nicely cosy restaurant in a very nice soothing green. La Marmite offers both Ala Carte and Set Menu. I thought the menu was a good bargain so decided to go for the Set.

 

Before the starter was served, the bread with butter and a dip for the bread was served. The bread was pretty great tasting baguette.

Bread, Baguette
Bread, Baguette

I like smoked salmon so very naturally I chose the Smoked Salmon and Caper Rillettes served with Sourdough Toast. The Smoked Salmon was diced and mixed with Caper and I think some sauces. It was delicious.

Smoked salmon and caper rillettes served with sour dough toast
Smoked salmon and caper rillettes served with sour dough toast

The Main Course followed shortly after I was done with my starter. I was having Pan Roasted Lamb Rack with Cumin Ratatouille and Dauphinois Gratin. This was a great dish. The lamb rack was well marinated and cooked to perfection, at Medium done. While the Cumin Ratatouille was flavourful. The block of potato may look like just simply a normal block of potato but if you look carefully, it was made up with very thin slices of potato stacked to form that block. This was a skillfully cooked dish. Excellent.

My Main Course, Pan Roasted Lamb Rack with cumin rataouille and dauphinois gratin
My Main Course, Pan Roasted Lamb Rack with cumin rataouille and dauphinois gratin

As there wasn’t much choices for dessert so I decided on Vanilla Panna Cotta with Macerated Berries. Among the three course, I find the dessert was not as great. Though it was supposed to be a Vanilla Panna Cotta but the vanilla taste was not enough. I could only taste the berries when I ate it together with the Panna Cotta.

My Dessert, Vanilla panna cotta with macerated berries
My Dessert, Vanilla panna cotta with macerated berries

I enjoyed the starter and main dish very much. They were great but was disappointed with the dessert, which always has been a highlight of my meal. Nevertheless, a great French restaurant to dine in, especially if you were on a date. It has a great ambience.

 

La Marmite
G/F & 1/F, 46 Staunton Street, Central
中環士丹頓街46號地下及1樓
Tel: +852 2803 7808

Opening Hours

Monday – Friday 1130 to 2230; Saturday, Sunday and Public Holiday 1000 to 2300

Getting There

By MTR: Central

Rating: 7.5/10

Published by

NAHMJ

A gal who loves to travel and enjoy great food, who also love to take photos of the food and to share her finds

Leave a Reply

