Day 3 Holiday In Hong Kong, In July 2014

Day 3 was Hari Raya Puasa in Singapore and was the last day of holiday for my aunt and uncle. Day 3 was to Lantau Island, Ngong Ping Village.

We have congee and rice roll as breakfast at Sea View Restaurant and then took the MTR to Tung Chung Station. Exit via B and walk towards straight ahead to the Cable Car station. A map for the direction is below.

There are more attractions on Lantau Island beside Ngong Ping Village such as Tai O.

Instead of taking the cable car ride, an alternatively is to take the bus.

Hols In HK In Jul 2014 - Ngong Ping Bus Sign

While we were queuing, we saw the cable car.

Hols In HK In Jul 2014 - Cable Car rides

Soon it was our turn to purchase the tickets. There were a few option and we chose the standard cabin returns option.

Finally, we got our ticket and we proceed, to queue for the ride.

Hols In HK In Jul 2014 - Ticket for Return Cable Car Ride

While we were waiting for our turn to ride the cable car, I saw a different kind of cabin. One that is for transporting goods between Ngong Ping and the land. There was free WiFi for browsing the web and to download an audio guide while waiting.

Cable Car for goods
Cable Car for goods

The ride was a scenic one with blue blue sky and green green hills and pretty crystal clear sea water.

A great view of the Hong Kong International Airport. Every few minutes, there was a plane either descending or ascending. I managed to capture the flight in action.

On the way, I saw a waterfall too.

Waterfall
Waterfall

Now, we spotted sight of the Big Buddha while we were still on the cable car ride.

View of Big Buddha from Cable Car
View of Big Buddha from Cable Car

After about 30 minutes ride in the cable car, we reached the station at Ngong Ping. Before we could exit the station, we have to pass through a gift shop. I saw these very cute monkeys that can make up a family unit, wanted to buy it for my doggy at home. But found it a little too expensive so gave up that thought.

Cute Monkeys Curdies
Cute Monkeys Curdies

We caught sight of the side of the Buddha and I took more photos.

View of Big Buddha in Nature
View of Big Buddha in Nature

A short walk from the gift shop, we reached the entrance of Ngong Ping Village.

Ngong Ping Village View
Ngong Ping Village View

There was Ngong Ping Village map throughout, I snapped one for my reference.

Map of Ngong Ping Village
Map of Ngong Ping Village

More sights of the Big Buddha as we walked through the village.

View of Big Buddha in Ngong Ping Village
View of Big Buddha in Ngong Ping Village

On our way to the Tian Tan Buddha, I saw two cute colourful ornaments, I like what I saw so I took 2 photos of them.

There was still some distance before we reached the feet of Tian Tan Buddha; passed through a gate and saw some bronze soliders statue on both side of the walk way …

… and finally we were at the stairways and on our way to Tian Tan Big Buddha.

I took lots of photos and I have lots of fun taking the photos of the Big Buddha, taking at different angle.

When descended from the Big Buddha, I saw this cute little wild doggy sleeping at a shaded corner.

Lazing Doggy
Lazing Doggy

We walked across to Po Lin Monastery. As lots of incense were burning, it caused me to cough badly and I couldn’t walk any further.

As we stepped out of the Monastery, I spotted people kneading at a particular spot praying to the Buddha statue and there was a queue as well.

Praying to Big Buddha
Praying to Big Buddha

It was around noon time when we ended our “tour” at Ngong Ping Village but we didn’t want to have lunch there so we share a 12 feet subway sandwich and gelato.

And soon, it was time to return and we took the return cable car ride and reached the base and again, exited and walked through another gift shop.

End of Visit
End of Visit

The queue was getting longer. Wow.

Long Queue In the afternoon
Long Queue In the afternoon

Time for a proper lunch, we headed for One Dim Sum at Prince Edward, a One-Michelin Star Restaurant but was closed for air con maintenance work and will only opened in August. Down on our luck.

We decided to go back to the hotel for a rest before lunch cum dinner. I bought coffee and cakes and enjoyed them in the hotel.

After some rest and my aunt and uncle did their final pack-up, we got to Dim Dim Sum.

Before departing for Hong Kong, we went to Avenue of the Stars to enjoy the marvellous view of Hong Kong’s Victoria Harbour.

And now is the time to say goodbye to my aunt and uncle while they say goodbye to Hong Kong while I continue my time in Hong Kong

As it was still early, I shop around Tsim Sha Tsui. First I bought a raincoat and then walk to Harbourcity and found Debailleul, rested with Earl Grey Tea and a Tiramisu Cake.

My Order, Earl Grey Tea with Tiramisu
My Order, Earl Grey Tea with Tiramisu

Next, more shopping around Tsim Sha Tsui and finally it was late, went back to Mongkok. Instead of going straight back to the hotel, I decided to have dessert at Sheung Tong.

Mango Pudding with Lava Mango Centre
Mango Pudding with Lava Mango Centre

And I will continue with Day 4 of my holiday the next day.

Click to read my Day 1 and Day 2.

Published by

NAHMJ

A gal who loves to travel and enjoy great food, who also love to take photos of the food and to share her finds

Leave a Reply

