Kitchen 65, Whipping Singapore and Malaysia Cusine, In Tsim Sha Tsui

Kitchen 65 prides itself serving Singapore and Malaysia Cuisine in Tsim Sha Tsui. I was kinda skeptical about them serving authentic Singapore and Malaysia Cuisine so I passed it when I first saw it. But still succumbed to its charm after all.

The restaurant has lovely greens grown on a wall. It has a very much modern sleek design, very brown feel as all the furniture are brown. I like the feel of the restaurant.

They serve lots of different popular, famous Singapore and Malaysia dishes. The dishes that stand out most were Hainanese Chicken Rice and Black Pepper Crab. But I ordered neither. In fact, none of the other famous and popular dishes as well. I am going back home to enjoy those dishes instead. I ordered something I feel like having.

Pepper and Salt Beancurd
Pepper and Salt Beancurd

Instead, I ordered the Pepper and Salt Beancurd. Basically, it is a fried dish with salt and pepper added as seasoning to the deep fried beancurd. Each deep fried beancurd is about 3 cm by 3 cm by 3 cm big. My immediate reaction was the beancurd are big and thought it might not be tasty but I was wrong. The beancurd has a good coat of pepper and salt. It was well fried and has a thinly crispy outer layer on the beancurd. Most importantly, the beancurd was smooth and has a good soyabean flavour. In short, an excellent dish, went very well with rice.

Deep Fried Chicken with Cereal
Deep Fried Chicken with Cereal

For the Deep Fried Chicken with Cereal, it tasted as great too. The fried chicken pieces were generously covered with cereal. It is a slight sweetish dish due to the cereal. The chicken was smooth and tender, not over fried. I see that they used mainly thigh meat. The batter was extremely thinly coated on the chicken so after frying, the chicken is not hard though not the crispy kind as well.

I ordered a Iced Mixed Lime Soda. I like it very much. There was a preserved lime which gave off a very distinctive unique lime taste. Try it and you know what I mean. But I suspect that this taste might be an acquired taste as well.

My conclusion? Based on the dishes I tried, I feel that they serve delish dishes putting aside whether they are serving authentic Singapore and Malaysia dishes. I will try those dishes the next time when I visit them to determine its authenticity.

 

Kitchen 65
Shop 7, 2/F, Miramar Shopping Centre, 132 Nathan Road, Tsim Sha Tsui
尖沙咀彌敦道132號美麗華商場2樓7號舖

Opening Hours

Daily 1200 to 2300

Getting There

By MTR: Tsim Sha Tsui (Exit B1)

Rating: 7.5/10

Published by

NAHMJ

A gal who loves to travel and enjoy great food, who also love to take photos of the food and to share her finds

Leave a Reply

