Day 1 In Hong Kong In August 2014, To Stanley Market

Once again, I was in Hong Kong in August. Like the last time, I capitalized on the opportunity by extending my stay for 2 more days. I woke up early for a leisure breakfast at Oolaa Cafe at Soho, Sheung Wan.

Breakfast at Oolaa Cafe
Breakfast at Oolaa Cafe

Right after breakfast, I walked towards the Bus Terminal at Exchange Square to take a bus to Stanley Market. There are Citybus Service 6, 6A, 6X, 66 and 260 from Central with 6X begin the express bus. The bus stand for 6, 6X and 6A is closer to Exchange Square Tower 2. I am not sure about the rest. You got to be careful while looking for the bus stand when at the Bus Terminal, as there isn’t a specific lane or platform for the pedestrians so you walked on the bus lane. For more information about the bus, click here.

I happened to take 6X. The ride was great as it passed by the scenic Deep Water Bay and Repulse Bay. But the road is very bendy. If you have travel sickness, beware.

Finally I arrived at Stanley, I chose to alight at the Stanley Plaza.

View  from the Top Floor or Stanley Plaza
View from the Top Floor or Stanley Plaza

I roamed around Stanley Plaza for a moment.

Stanley Plaza
Stanley Plaza – Observation Deck

Walked down the escalator towards the ground floor, passed by a supermart and saw a lovely Labrador at the Dog Parking Bay. Stanley is such a dog friendly place.

Labrador at Dog Parking Bay
Labrador at Dog Parking Bay

I saw a few Guinness World Record awarded to Stanley, all relating to doggies. It’s a doggy heaven.

As I walked around, I spotted many doggies in the area.

History of Stanley
History of Stanley

For those interested with the history, you can read the above.

Around the Stanley Plaza, you can easily spot a few places of interest such as the Tin Hau Temple, Tai Wong Temple and the of all famous Murray House.

I strolled along the Stanley Main Street and reached the round-about …

Stanley Round-about
Stanley Round-about

… walked further and I saw a big rock with many people,

View of a big stone at Stanley Bay
View of a big stone at Stanley Bay

… make a left turn into StanleyMarket

… found a shop selling lots of very cute animals stuff toys, not the furry type but make of cloth. It was the rabbit that caught my attention.

I decided to pop by St Anne’s Church.

As I stepped out of St Anne’s Church, I was greeted by Stanley Post Office

Stanley Post Office
Stanley Post Office

When I reached the Stanley Bus Terminal, I saw the Bus Services Information, indicating the various buses to the City.

Bus Services to City from Stanley
Bus Services to City from Stanley

After which, I decided to walk back to Stanley Plaza, passed by the Stanley Cave, took a photo as I like what I saw.

Stanley Cave
Stanley Cave

For I have not explored the area beyond Murray House so I walked towards that direction, saw the Blake Pier

Blake Pier
Blake Pier

… walked a little further, heading the direction of Kum Yam Temple/Pak Tai Temple which is up-hill.

View from the Trail towards Pak Tai Temple
View from the Trail towards Pak Tai Temple

But decided to make a U-turn for whatever reason.

… saw more views of what I like, took more photos behind taking a bus to head back to the city for some shopping trips.

I needed energy for my shopping trips, had late lunch at Butcher Club.

Lunch @ Butchers Club
Lunch @ Butchers Club

After all the shopping, time for dinner. I have my dinner at Joy Hing Roasted Meat.

Dinner @ Joy Hing Roasted Meat
Dinner @ Joy Hing Roasted Meat

Now, it was late and I needed my sleep. Back to hotel. Day 2 to continue … click here.

 

Getting To Stanley

From Central, Exchange Square Bus Terminal – City Bus 6, 6A, 6X, 66, 260

From Causeway Bay, Tang Lung Street – Green Mini Bus 40

From Tsim Sha Tsui, Tsim Sha Tsui East Bus Station (inside Concordia Plaza on Science Museum Road) – 973

 

Link to check out before you go:

Hong Kong Tourism Board – Stanley Market

City Bus Service to Stanley

 

Published by

NAHMJ

A gal who loves to travel and enjoy great food, who also love to take photos of the food and to share her finds

Leave a Reply

