Day 2 In Hong Kong In August 2014

Lamma Island is the one other Hong Kong outlying island that I heard is beautiful. So I shall see for myself on the second day of my holiday in August.

I wanted to make the best use of all the time I have so I woke up early for a hearty breakfast at Brew Bros to revitalise.

Breakfast @ Brew Bros
Breakfast @ Brew Bros

Right after breakfast, I head for Pier 4 at the Central Pier to take a Ferry to Lamma Island. At Lamma Island, there are 2 ferry terminal; Yung Shue Wan and Sok Kwu Wan Ferry Terminal. Getting to either Ferry Terminal is from Pier 4 of Central Pier.

When I arrived at Pier 4, in 5 min there was a ferry departing for Yung Shue Wan so I hopped onto it.

View from Lamma Island
View from Lamma Island at Yung Shue Wan Pier

The ferry ride was approximate 30 minutes. In the ferry, they even catered a section for owners with pets. So Pet friendly.

Pet Carrier Area
Pet Carrier Area

Took a photo of the Lamma Island map with its attraction.

Map of Lamma Island
Map of Lamma Island

And then saw a lovely kitty.

Lovely Kitty
Lovely Kitty

I planned to walk towards Sok Kwu Wan Ferry Terminal which will take about an hour plus. My first destination was to stroll along Yung Shue Wan Main Street …

A Street On Lamma Island
Yung Shue Wan Main Street On Lamma Island

… head towards Tin Hau Temple. Stop over and took a photo. The new police post is opposite of the temple.

Tin Hau Temple
Tin Hau Temple

Make a U-turn towards and look for Lamma Island Family Walk which will lead to Lamma Winds, Hung Shing Ye Beach and Sok Kwu Wan Ferry Terminal. There are sign-post on the way, so no worry about how to get there.

Flower like hisbiscus, another view
Flower like hibiscus

On the way, to my next destination, Lamma Wind, I saw a hibiscus-like flower. Not sure if it is a variant.

I continue my journey towards the Lamma Winds via a climb of a not-so-mild slope. Finally saw sight and I walked towards and took a nice photo of the Wind.

The Wind
The Wind

As I was descending, a lady was walking with her doggy. As I was holding the camera, the doggy was a little wary of it.

I also spotted a big spider, waiting silently for the prey.

Spider
Spider

Went down, and moved on to Hung Shing Ye Beach.

The beach is very clean, with a nice blue water. Quite a lot of people swimming and sunbathing there.

Tiny Butterfly @ Lamma Island
Tiny Butterfly @ Lamma Island

I was in a shopping mood so I decided to head back to Yung Shue Wan Ferry Terminal to catch the ferry back to Central. On the way, saw a few grasses with the above small tiny butterfly-like. There is a MTR Fare Saver too. Don’t forget to tab your MTR card.

Comparing with Cheung Chau Island, I like Cheung Chau Island more as there are a good mixture of scenic view with street snacks and shops. Unlike Lamma Island, there are only nature view so after some time, I don’t really know what I am looking at.

My first shopping destination was IFC mall. I have a yogurt ice cream before the start of the shopping to cool down from the heat.

Yo Mama Original Flavour Yogurt
Yo Mama Original Flavour Yogurt

It was quite a fruitful trip at IFC. Then I moved on to PMQ.

Snack at Alice Wild
Snack at Alice Wild

Did some shopping, got a wallet for my cousin. Then went to Yat Lok for very late lunch.

Roasted Goose and BBQ Pork Rice
Roasted Goose and BBQ Pork Rice @ Yat Lok

Next destination is Causeway Bay. Find the sight at Fashion Walk interesting, with old worn looking building above a fashionable modern high-end shopping mall. What a contrast.

Fashion Walk, Old & New
Fashion Walk, Old & New

I decided to have dinner at Sister Wah Beef Brisket Restaurant and so I walked towards Tin Hau. Passed by an interesting shop is the Indo Market. The entire supermarket is selling Indonesia products.

Indo Market
Indo Market

Followed by Victoria Park.

Victoria Park
Victoria Park

Finally, got to Sister Wah Beef Brisket and have my hot pipping bowl of soupy Beef Brisket with Rice Noodle.

Beef Brisket Rice Noodle
Beef Brisket Rice Noodle

Since I was at Tin Hau, I have decided to roamed around. I saw a bakery, Dragon Ball Bakery, selling my mom’s favourite, the Glutinous Rice Cake. I got two back to Singapore for my Mom to try. She like it.

Dragon Ball Bakery, Glutinous Rice Cake
Dragon Ball Bakery, Glutinous Rice Cake

It was almost time to head back to hotel for a good night rest and my Day 3, last day will continue …

To read Day 1, click here.

 

 

Getting To Lamma Island

From Central Pier 4, take a ferry (approx. 30 min ferry ride)

Getting to Central Pier: By MTR – Central (Exit A)

 

Link to check out before you go:

Hong Kong Tourism Board – Lamma Island

Online Community for Lamma Island

Ferry Schedule to Lamma Island

Published by

NAHMJ

A gal who loves to travel and enjoy great food, who also love to take photos of the food and to share her finds

Leave a Reply

