Set At POMO, Value For Money

When I get to know about Set, perched at the second level of POMO shopping mall, I was pretty excited as they were serving 5-course lunch at a$28.80 ++. I really think it is a steal. If the food is excellent, it would be a bonus. Since I was meeting a friend for lunch, I chose to have it there as I thought it was a pretty convenient location.

Set Lunch Menu
Set Lunch Menu

The restaurant has a contemporary design. The tables were pretty spacious and there good spacing between them for some privacy.

Chef Starter, Gratin
Chef Starter, Cheese Gratin

Our Chef Starter was Cheese Gratin. It came with some toast. It wasn’t impressive but certainly above average. It was a good start. I could prefer leaner bacon if I have a choice.

For Cold Dish, I chose Smoked Duck Breast while my friend went for the Tomato Caprese. The greens were certainly fresh. I didn’t quite like the orange salad dressing. There was too much bitter taste and there isn’t enough orangy flavour. It tasted like they added some orange flavouring into it. My friend find that the Tomato Caprese a little salty as they sprinkle some sea salt over the Tomato Caprese. For those who don’t like it to be too salty, you may want to request for no sea salt.

And we moved on to the soup. My friend loves Pumpkin Soup so it was a no brainer for her. We agreed that it was lacking of pumpkin flavour. I am not a soup fan so I went for something safe, the Mushroom Veloute with Peanut Butter. When my friend tasted the Mushroom soup, she commented that there was a burnt taste but I told her it wasn’t burnt but some other taste like BBQ. We were latter informed that the mushroom was smoked before they processed it into soup. Their purpose was to create an enhance mushroom flavour but unfortunately this smokey flavour was not very much appreciated. And was easily mistaken by burnt. I didn’t appreciate the smokey flavour either. I felt that this flavour has spoilt the mushroom flavour of the soup. As they noted that I wasn’t very pleased with the soup, they offered to change it for something else so I chose to try the Double Boiled Herbal Chicken Soup. I could taste some chicken flavour in the soup but there was a little sourish taste as they would have probably either added too much wolfberries or the wolfberries was double-boiled for too long.

Double-boiled Herbal Chicken Soup
Double-boiled Herbal Chicken Soup

Now, it was time for Main. I could decide between the Beef Tenderloin and the Baby Pork Ribs. The service crew mentioned that the Baby Pork Ribs was fatty so that helped me in my selection. My friend opted for the Roasted Chicken Pullet but there was replaced with some Roasted Chicken Thigh. I didn’t get the name of the dish.

The Roasted Beef Tenderloin was by far the best. It was flavourful with marinate but the natural beef flavour was missing. It was quite a shame. I think my friend didn’t have much comment for her main dish.

Finally, the highlights of our meal. We were looking forward to the desserts. Our favourite part of the meal. The service crew arranged three desserts for us. That was a very nice gesture that we appreciate. The desserts were the Espresso Creme Brulee, Pistachio Panna Cotta andd the Poached Pear with Gelato. We started with the Poached Pear with Gelato. The gelato was decent but certain not any high-end brand. It tasted like Meadow Gold. We didn’t appreciate the Poached Pear soaked in Red Wine as we were expecting a sweet pear but it was salty. As for the Espresso Creme Brulee and Pistachio Panna Cotta, these were decent. It didn’t wow us though.

Our verdict, the food wasn’t impressive. Lots of misses but certainly value for money. Would we return? I suppose I would give them another chance.

And my final thoughts, it seems that currently, they are trying to give the customers a lot but at the same time struggling to ensure profit. I think a better strategy would be to reduce the number of courses to maybe four or even three but make sure that in each dish, quality ingredients were used.

 

Set
1 Selegie Road, PoMo #02-01 Singapore 188306
Tel: +65 6337 7644

Opening Hours

Daily 1130 to 2200

Getting There

By MRT: North-South line, North-East line and Circle line – Dhoby Ghaut station

By Bus:
– alight at NTUC Income Prinsep House along Selegie Road – 64, 65, 131, 139, 147, 166, 857
– alight opp Prime Centre along Middle Road – 56, 64, 65, 131, 139, 147, 166, 857
– alight at Rendezvous Hotel ong Bras Basah Road – 7, 14, 14e, 16, 36, 77, 106, 111, 124, 162, 162M, 167, 171, 174e, 175, 190, 502, 502A, 518, 518A
– alight at Manualife Centre along Bras Basah Road – 131, 147, 166, 857

Rating: 6.5/10

Published by

NAHMJ

A gal who loves to travel and enjoy great food, who also love to take photos of the food and to share her finds

Leave a Reply

