Flavour Flings, A Cafe In Hougang

Yet another cafe in Hougang, Flavour Flings. It is a stone throw from Ciel Patisserie (for those who know where Ciel Patisserie is).

Interior, By the side
Interior, By the side

I was pretty impressed with the decoration when I entered. The view was more than pleasant. I like the pebbles laid. It seems they have used lots of recycle material. On the exterior side of the cafe, they use egg trays as decoration. While on the same side, the interior part, it seems Flavour Flings uses some recycle wood. All were put together with well thoughts.

So much so about the design. What about the menu and the food? They serve the usual Egg Benedicts, Pancake (seems to be in the trend now), some toasties & sandwiches, pastas. Something a little unusual is the Egg Casseroles and I like the dessert menu very much. I will try them at my next visit.

That day, I feel like having Egg Benedicts as it was quite a while ago since I have them. And I never failed to go with a cup of Cappuccino.

Egg Benedicts
Egg Benedicts

Serving was pretty huge, I was quite surprised. I like the Hollandaise Sauce. It was slightly creamy, not overly sour and a little savoury. The potatoes were exceptional delish. I am not a potato fans (except when it is in the form of fries) but I like it very much. So is the salad. At a glance, I thought there weren’t any salad dressing but I was wrong. The dressing though was sparingly drizzled, it was sufficient and was superb. The bread they used was brioche which I mistaken it as thick toast. The brioche was marvellous too.

Cappuccino
Cappuccino

Coffee served at Flavour Flings was equally more than decent. The coffee was of medium body and aroma, low acidity with nutty and butterscotch hints.

The menu at Flavour Flings may be garden-variety, but the taste is exceptional. I will return to try their desserts.

Flavour Flings
121 Hougang Avenue 1 #01-1348 Singapore 530121
Tel: +65 6286 0051

Opening Hours

Monday, Wednesday – Friday 1100 to 2100; Saturday – Sunday 0900 to 2100; Closed on Tuesday

Getting There

By Bus: alight at or opposite Paya Lebar Methodist Girls’ School – 45, 53, 62, 113

By MRT: Northeast line – Kovan station

Rating: 7.5/10

Published by

NAHMJ

A gal who loves to travel and enjoy great food, who also love to take photos of the food and to share her finds

2 thoughts on “Flavour Flings, A Cafe In Hougang”

Leave a Reply

