Xi.Yan At Shaw Centre, Scotts Road

I was rather excited when I knew that Xi Yan (囍宴) has arrived in Singapore and set foot at Shaw. I tried the Xi Yan Sweet in Hong Kong during one of my trip last year and I like their food very much. And on New Year Day, to start my 2015 on a right note, I asked my Dad and my aunt for a lunch feast at Xi Yan.

The menu offered at Xi Yan Shaw Singapore was slightly different from the Xi Yan Sweet in Hong Kong. I see that there are some local flavours especially the desserts. For the menu, click here.

 Jelly Fish and Cucumber with Wasabi Sesame Sauce
Jelly Fish and Cucumber with Wasabi Sesame Sauce

We have the Jelly Fish and Cucumber with Wasabi Sesame Sauce, a cold dish, as our appertizer. It has crunchy cucumber and crunchy chewy Jelly Fish in nice scented Wasabi Sesame Sauce which I could hardly taste the Wasabi but only the Sesame. I think it would taste better if the Wasabi taste could be a little more obvious. Nevertheless, though it is dominated by the Sesame Sauce, it went very well with both the Jelly Fish and Cucumber.

Deep Fried Shrimp Paste Fish Fillet with Pomelo Chestnut Salad
Deep Fried Shrimp Paste Fish Fillet with Pomelo Chestnut Salad

Usually we have the Deep Fried Shrimp Paste Chicken, but at Xi Yan, they used Fish instead of Chicken. It tasted as good. The Deep Fried Shrimp Paste Fish Fillet is on a bed of Pomelo Chestnut Salad. The Pomelo Chestnut Salad has a “bath” of citrus sauce, pretty sourish. Likewise, I couldn’t taste the chestnut but only Pomelo. The deep fried fish go well with the citrus sauce too. But once you dip it with the citrus sauce, it masked the taste of the Shrimp Paste.

Spinach with Three Types of Egg
Spinach with Three Types of Egg

The Spinach with Three Types of Egg was a little bland, at least for me. I prefer it to be a little more salty. Both my aunt and my dad has no complain though.

"Pregnant Woman" Fried Rice
“Pregnant Woman” Fried Rice

We also ordered a “Pregnant Woman” Fried Rice. I certainly have no idea why it is named “Pregnant Woman Fried Rice. It was fried with olive, dried shrimps and ginger. It was very tasty. I like the fried rice very much.

Coconut Ice Cream with Palm Sugar Jelly in Coconut Cream
Coconut Ice Cream with Palm Sugar Jelly in Coconut Cream

How could we miss the fabulous desserts at Xi Yan and since I have always enjoy desserts more than Mains. We ordered two desserts for sharing. The Coconut Ice Cream with Palm Sugar Jelly in Coconut Cream and the Green Tea and Black Sesame Glutinous Dumpling  with Sweet Potato in Ginger Soup. And I have forgotten to capture a photo of the Glutinous Dumpling dessert. My Dad didn’t try the ice cream as he avoids cold stuff. Both my aunt and myself enjoyed the coconut ice cream. I find this creation unique as instead of drizzle the palm sugar over the ice cream, Xi Yan make it into Jelly instead. This was certainly original. The best part in the creation was the jelly provide another texture to the dish.

The Green Tea and Black Sesame Glutinous Dumpling  with Sweet Potato in Ginger Soup came with only 2 dumpling so one for my aunt and one for my dad. The dumpling was pretty awesome but everyone of us find the Ginger Soup too sweet for our palette.

Iced Lemongrass Drink
Iced Lemongrass Drink

I was some how hooked on to Lemongrass drink so I ordered an iced one to try. Xi Yan Lemongrass drink has a good balance of Lemongrass scent and sweetness.

It was a sumptuous New Year Day lunch. Xi Yan Shaw Singapore is certainly as good as Xi Yan Sweet Hong Kong. I somehow find it cheaper at Singapore than Hong Kong. And I am certain about returning to Xi Yan.

 

Xi Yan Shaw (囍宴)
1 Scotts Road, #03-12/13 Shaw Centre Singapore 228208
Tel: +65 6733 3476

Opening Hours

Daily 1200 to 1500 (lunch), 1730 to 2230 (dinner

Getting There

By MRT: North-South line – Orchard station

By Bus:
– alight at Royal Plaza On Scotts or at Far East Plaza along Scotts Road 5, 54, 124, 128, 143, 162, 162M, 167, 171, 700, 700A

– alight at Royal Thai Embassy along Orchard Road 7, 26, 77, 105, 106, 111, 123, 132, 174, 502

– alight Tang Plaza along Orchard Road 190, 518

– alight at Lucky Plaza along Orchard Road 14, 14e, 16, 65, 106, 111, 123, 175, 502

– alight opp Orchard Station along Orhard Boulevard 7, 14, 16, 36, 65, 77, 106, 111, 123, 174, 174e, 175

Rating: 8.5/10

Published by

NAHMJ

A gal who loves to travel and enjoy great food, who also love to take photos of the food and to share her finds

Leave a Reply

