Old House At Neil Road, White Lor Noodle & Dinosaur Prawns Noodle

Once a upon a time, there was an Old House and it was at Neil Road. Lol!! This Old House that I am talking about in this post is not found in any fairy tales but it is a Zi Char Restaurant. What is Zi Char? For the benefit of my overseas readers, let me explain what is Zi Char. When it is translated literally, Zi means cook while Char means fried. So to put it simply Zi Char means they offer a wide range of variety of Chinese food coooked in any methods.

The Old House has a long history and it is famous for its Dinosaur Prawn Noodle and White Lor Mee (Mee means noodle). The White Lor Mee is its signature dish. For the menu, you can click here. Since those are the acclaimed dishes, I must give them a try. I went down on separate occasions to try the two noodle dishes

Dinosaur Prawn Noodle
Dinosaur Prawn Noodle

At my first visit, I was too enthralled to try the Dinosaur Prawn Noodle. I don’t usually go for the yellow noodle (shown in the photo) as it has an unpleasant alkaline taste which I dislike. But I have some feedback that it has minimal so decided to give it a try and indeed I could hardly taste the alkaline taste. The Dinosaur Prawn was huge. There are also pork ribs. The meat was tender and melted in the mouth. And the soup was rich in prawn flavours. It was an awesome bowl of noodle for lunch.

Beside the Dinosaur Prawn Noodle, there other various selection for Prawn Noodles. You can go for purely prawn noodles without pork ribs and various sizes of prawns.

White Lor Mee
White Lor Mee

The next I tried was the White Lor Mee. When I see the word Lor Mee, I was doubtful about its taste. As I am not a fan of the Lor Mee that we normally find in the Food Centre. This one was exceptionally tasty. The soup was flavourful and the best part, the noodle isn’t the yellow noodles but kind of look like the handmade type. I am very impressed with this dish.

I have passed by the Old House on several times, and it is only till now that I decided to give it a try. I have a very good impression of Old House based on the 2 dishes I tried. Both are equally good. I am gonna try more of their dishes.

 

Old House (老屋)
25 Neil Road Singapore 0888166
Tel: +65 6223 1633

Opening Hours

Daily 1000 to 0400

Getting There

By Bus:
– alight opp Fairfield Methodist Church along Tanjong Pagar Road 80, 145

– alight after Kreta Ayer Road along Neil Road 61, 166, 197

By MRT: North East line or East-West line – Outram Park station; East-West line – Tanjong Pagar station

Rating: 8.5/10

Published by

NAHMJ

A gal who loves to travel and enjoy great food, who also love to take photos of the food and to share her finds

Leave a Reply

