Violet Herbs At Tras Street Tanjong Pagar

When I got the news of Violet Herbs Modern European Restaurant was opened by the former Ember Restaurant Chef, it got me excited as we always enjoyed the food served from the Ember Restaurant’s kitchen. Without verifying the news, I informed my cousin immediately and instantly (almost), in his Whatapps message, he replied “It wasn’t by the Sebastian something”. I was some what disappointed. And he continued, “It’s still worth trying”. I have the same sentiment. I went ahead for lunch without him first. I couldn’t wait.

Interior
Interior

Violet Herbs Modern European Restaurant, with a contemporary setting, occupied a two-level shop house along Tras Street, Tanjong Pagar area, whereby lots of awesome restaurants gathered. It has lots of violet furniture which attributed some funky factor in the design. That’s very much how I feel.

The one thing that I really love about Violet Herb is the affordable weekday set (lunch and dinner). The 3-course weekday set lunch is priced at $29.50+++ per person while the 4-course weekday set dinner is also at an attractive price of $42+++ per person. I don’t usually state the price but it is such a good deal and I must highlight. If you prefer, you can go for its 6- or 8- course degustation set. For the menu, click here.

Herb Bread with Butter
Herb Bread with Butter

After I placed my order, I was served with a warm bun-like looking bread with a side butter. It has a relatively strong herb smell which I enjoyed and without doubt, it was soft and fluffy.

Oyster with Vinegar
Oyster with Vinegar

It was followed by the Oyster with Vinegar, fresh and tasty and no fishy-like taste. Probably it was well masked by the vinegar.

Lunch Set, Appetizer: Pan Seared Foie Gras (Orange Segments, Chilli Candies, Dehydrated Orange, Orange Reduction)
Lunch Set, Appetizer: Pan Seared Foie Gras (Orange Segments, Chilli Candies, Dehydrated Orange, Orange Reduction)

For the Appetizer, you have the option of the Foie Gras (with an additional charge of $5) or the remaining choices. I went for Pan Seared Foie Gras with Orange Segments, Chilli Candies, Dehydrated Orange and Orange Reduction). The Foie Gras simply melted in the mouth.

Lunch Set, Main: Chicken Roulade & Lobster Mousse(with Semi Dried Tomato On Vine, Sauteed Haricot Vert, Poached Potatoes, Jus Gras
Lunch Set, Main: Chicken Roulade & Lobster Mousse(with Semi Dried Tomato On Vine, Sauteed Haricot Vert, Poached Potatoes, Jus Gras

Next, my mains. I opted for the Chicken Roulade & Lobster Mousse (with Semi Dried Tomato On Vine, Sauteed Haricot Vert, Poached Potatoes and Jus Gras). This is a lighter dish, good for diners with lighter palate. Personally, I prefer stronger flavoured dish. Nevertheless, this is still a delish dish.

Lunch Set, Dessert: Apple Strudel
Lunch Set, Dessert: Apple Strudel

Lastly, the dessert. I have the Apple Strudel in Filo Pastry with Thyme Ice Cream, Cherry and Toffee Sauce. This was my favourite part of the meal, as always. The pastry was so crispy and the apple was still very crunchy and the entire dish was only slight sweetish though Toffee sauce was used. And it paired perfectly with the lightly thyme flavoured ice cream. I could accept the ice cream even if it is slightly stronger in Thyme aroma.

My conclusion is, Violet Herbs is a restaurant worthy of visit. Luckily, I came and try that was what I thought to myself after the lunch. And I can’t wait to have dinner there soon!

 

Violet Herbs Modern European Restaurant
81 Tras Street Singapore 079020
Tel: +65 6221 3988

FBhttps://www.facebook.com/violetherbs

Opening Hours

Daily 1130 to 1500, 1800 to 2200

Getting There

By MRT: North-South Line -Tanjong Pagar station

By Bus: alight at the bus stop either before Wallich Road or after Craig Road – 80, 145

Rating: 8.5/10

Published by

NAHMJ

A gal who loves to travel and enjoy great food, who also love to take photos of the food and to share her finds

Leave a Reply

